LawPutra ®

Committed To Your Success

Rajya Sabha Election 2020 updates:

Rajya Sabha Election 2020: Counting of votest to begin in four seats each in Andhra Pradesh and Gujarat, three each in MP and Rajasthan, two in Jharkhand, and one each in Manipur, Mizoram and Meghalaya at 5 PM

The choice of candidates for the Rajya Sabha election has been interestingly contrasting across parties. The Opposition is looking to add firepower to the upper house of Parliament where the BJP-led NDA lacks a majority of its own.
The Election Commission (EC) has made elaborate arrangements for the voting keeping in mind the coronavirus pandemic. Every voter (MLA) will screened for body temperature and will have use mask & adhere to social distancing norms. Legislators having fever / showing other symptoms will be kept in a separate waiting room.
Five candidates have been elected unopposed – four in Karnataka and one in Arunachal Pradesh. Karnataka has sent former prime minister and a former Leader of the House in the Lok Sabha of the principal Opposition party.

Rajya Sabha election is likely to boost the fire power of the Opposition in the upper house. Ruling BJP to depend on cadre-leader to counter the Congress-led rival camp.

BJP’s Jyotiraditya Scindia and Sumer Singh Solanki have won a seat each in Rajya Sabha from Madhya Pradesh while former CM Digvijaya Singh won the other seat for Congress party. The grand old party’s second candidate lost the elections.

Counting of Rajya Sabha elections has not yet started in Gujarat as Congress party has reportedly objected to the alleged unauthorised presence of a person who pushed the wheel chair of MLA Kesrisinh and questioned the validity of participation of MLA Bhupendrasinh Chudasama in polling.